## Shelburne renumeration in line with Dufferin council

Shelburne Council governs over a population of approximately 6000 residents and a town that is growing at twice the rate of other municipalities in Ontario. While their salaries took the biggest leap of lower tier municipalities in 2015, it came after a lengthy drought under former Mayor Ed Crewson, and relatively speaking, brought them in line with other Dufferin Councils. Although, Ed Crewson never received over \$12,000 annually, newly elected Mayor Ken Bennington will receive \$20,874 a year for the new term. Comparatively, further east in Mono Township with a population of 8000 residents, the Mayor receives \$20,434 annually. Mono Council salaries stand highest next to Orangeville at \$15,324 per year. Shelburne Councillor's new rate compares well with this at \$12,500 annually. Mono Township's Deputy Mayor earns \$17,804 whereas Shelburne's Deputy Mayor Geoff Dunlop will see his remuneration rise from what was \$9000 per year to \$14,711.

Lower rates of Council remuneration are generally seen in relationship to the number of ratepayers in a municipality - hence fewer responsibilities are assumed for fewer residents. However, in the windy Township of Melancthon, with one of the smallest populations in Dufferin County, Councillors have met with more trouble than citizens in recent years, playing host to both invasive mega miners and testy wind developers in recent years. Melancthon Clerk and CAO Denise Holmes reports, ?The Council Remuneration Sub-Committee? concluded that ?Melancthon Council wages were comparable to other municipalities its size and therefore there would be no change to the base salary for this term of Council.? In March of 2014, Council received a cost of living increase of 2%, bringing rates to \$14, 518.44 for the Mayor, \$10,063.74 for the Deputy Mayor and \$9074.07 for Councillors in the turbulent farming community.

Known for a turbulence of another kind, Mulmur Councillors are off to a fresh start - refocusing and eager to get on with the job of governing for their 3, 391 residents. They will see a very slight increase in remuneration from 2014 according to Clerk Terry Horner. Mulmur's Mayor will earn \$11,043, Deputy Mayor \$9,623 and Councillors \$9,021. In the ?rough heath? of East Garafraxa, there has been no discussion on a salary increase going forward. The Mayor's wage last increased marginally in 2011 from \$12,500 to \$12,781.25. East Garafraxa Deputy Mayor receives \$10,500 and the three Councillors receive \$10,000 each. Amaranth Township has had no changes in remuneration since 2011 with the Mayor collecting \$13,500, Deputy Mayor \$11,500, and Councillors \$10,000 a piece. On the west side of the County, Grand Valley Councillors are compensated \$9000 annually. The Mayor of Grand Valley, with 2, 726 residents, earns \$12,500 and the Deputy Mayor \$10,500 a year. Rates have not changed in Grand Valley since 2011. Remuneration for Orangeville Council remains highest of all the municipalities with Orangeville's approximately 28,000 citizens making up nearly half of Dufferin County's population. Orangeville's Mayor receives \$44,899 annually; the Deputy Mayor \$26,725.59 and Councillors \$24,159.93, with no new increases currently on the table. In very general terms, Orangeville Council members earn about \$1 from every resident.

Shelburne's Deputy Mayor Geoff Dunlop and Mayor Ken Bennington also sit on County Council. County Clerk Pam Hillock reports that yearly adjustments are made to County Council salaries in accordance with increases to non-union staff, bringing the current rate, as of July 1, 2014, to \$16,520.04 for each County Councillor. Dufferin's 57,000 residents will be governed by 13 members of County Council for the 2014-2018 term.

Current County members include: Don MacIver Mayor of Amaranth, Jane Aultman Deputy Mayor of Amaranth, Ken Bennington Mayor of Shelburne, Geoff Dunlop Deputy Mayor of Shelburne, Guy Gardhouse Mayor of East Garafraxa, Paul Mills Mayor of Mulmur, Heather Hayes Deputy Mayor of Mulmur, Warren Maycock Deputy Mayor of Orangeville, Ken McGhee Deputy Mayor of Mono, Laura Ryan Mayor of Mono, Steve Soloman Mayor of Grand Valley, Darren White Mayor of Melancthon, and Orangeville's Mayor Jeremy Williams. County Committee Chairs currently receive a higher remuneration of \$18,023.61 and the County Warden Warren Maycock receives \$43,500.24.

By Marni Walsh