Orillia Royals lead Creemore Padresin NDBL Junior Championship Series

Written By Brian Lockhart

The Orillia Royals have taken a two-game lead over the Creemore Padres in the North Dufferin Baseball League's Junior Division Championship Series.

Both teams did well this season, with Orillia finishing the regular season in first place with a 16-2 record. Creemore ended the season in second place with a 10-7-1 record.

At the start of the Junior division playoffs, both teams received a bye in the first round, with four other teams playing a best-of-three series to earn the right to advance to the second round.

In the second round, both series were a bit of a blowout. Creemore eliminated the Orangeville Bengals in two games, winning 12-2 in the first game, then following up with an 11-5 win in the second game.

In the other second-round series, Orillia dispatched the Innisfil Cardinals in two games. They won game one, 8-1, and finished off the series with a 13-2 win in the second game.

This set up the Junior championship between Orillia and Creemore.

In the first game of the championship series in Creemore, the Royals won 5-3 to take an early lead.

After the second game of the series, the Royals had a two-game advantage after winning 10-3 on their home diamond in Orillia on Wednesday, Aug. 9.

The teams will get a week-long break before playing game three on Aug. 16 in Creemore.

In the senior division of the NDBL, eight teams are currently in the first round of playoffs.

The Bolton Brewers jumped out to a two-game lead in their best-of-five series with the Lisle Astros.

The New Lowell Knights are leading 2-0 in their series with the Creemore Padres, including an 18-8 blowout in game two.

It is a closer series between the Barrie Angles and the Midland Mariners. Midland won the first game by a single run. In game two, Barrie came out top with a 5-3 win.

The Ivy Rangers and leading the Clearview Orioles 2-0 in their series.

The Senior division championship series will begin on Sept. 9, with the two remaining teams battling it out in a best-of-seven championship series.