Current & Past Articles » General News

Municipal election results across Dufferin County recently announced

October 27, 2022   ·   0 Comments

Written By Paula Brown

Local Journalism Initiative Reporter

Voters from municipalities across Dufferin County took to the polls on Monday (Oct. 24), as they chose the council members to lead their communities for the next four-year term. 

Polls closed at voting stations at 8 p.m., and in the hours following results on the candidates sitting on Municipal council were released.

Here are the mayors, deputy mayors, and councillors elected in each municipality. 


• Mayor: Darren White (re-elected with 629 votes)

• Deputy Mayor: James McLean (688 votes)

• Councillors: Ralph Moore (393 votes), Bill Neilson (471 votes), Ruth Plowright (470 votes)

Voter turnout: 827 votes out of 2545
eligible voters 


• Mayor: Janet Horner (acclaimed) 

• Deputy Mayor: Earl Hawkins
(708 votes)

• Councillors: Patricia Clark (877 votes), Andrew Cunningham (854 votes), Kim Lyons (592 votes)

Voter turnout: 1,309 votes cast out of 3,626 eligible voters (36.1 per cent)


• Mayor: Wade Mills (acclaimed)

• Deputy Mayor: Shane Hall (1087 votes)

• Councillors: Lindsay Wegener (1035 votes), Walter Benotto (969 votes), Len Guchardi (931 votes), Dan Sample (910 votes), Kyle Fegan (880 votes)

Voter turnout: 2,110 voted out of 5,823 eligible voters (36.2 per cent)


• Mayor: Chris Gerrits (700 votes)

• Deputy Mayor: Gail Little (580 votes)

• Councillors: Susan Graham (655 votes), Brad Metzger (695 votes), Andrew Stirk (609 votes)


• Mayor: John Creelman (acclaimed)

• Deputy Mayor: Fred Nix (acclaimed)

• Councillors: Elaine Capes (637 votes), Melinda Davie (656 votes), Ralph Manktelow (988 votes)

Voter turnout: 1,880 voted out of 7,486 eligible voters (25.1 per cent)


• Mayor: Lisa Post (2984 votes)

• Deputy Mayor: Todd Taylor (4727 votes)

• Councillors: Debbie Sherwood (3850 votes), Joe Andrews (3481 votes), Andy Macintosh (3410 votes), Tess Prendergast (2968 votes), Rick Stevens (2330 votes)

Voter turnout: 5,955 votes cast (26.93 per cent)

Grand Valley:

• Mayor: Steve Soloman (acclaimed)

• Deputy Mayor: Philip Rentsch (acclaimed)

• Councillors: Lorne Dart (411 votes), James W Jonker (396 votes), Paul Latam (461 votes)

Voter turnout: 652 votes cast out of 2,866 eligible voters (22.7 per cent)

East Garafraxa: 

• Mayor: Guy Gardhouse (acclaimed)

• Deputy Mayor: John Stirk (acclaimed)

• Councillors: Lenora Banfield (acclaimed), Dave Halls (acclaimed), Jeremy Zukowski (acclaimed)



Readers Comments (0)

Sorry, comments are closed on this post.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support