Contents » News and Sports » Sports

North Dufferin League hands out season awards

March 26, 2016   ·   0 Comments

Aurora Jays’ Ian Rettie stole the show in Lisle on Sunday, March 13, when the North Dufferin Baseball League handed out 2015 season awards.
Rettie, the left-handed slugger from the Aurora Jays, picked up five awards in the senior division.
His 2015 season batting average was .603. His on-base percentage was .698. He scored 31 runs and hit eight home runs to take top spot in the four categories.
He was also voted Most Valuable Player.
Also picking up top-honours in the senior division were Brad Greiveson of the Ivy Leafs as Best Pitcher, and Chris Fafalios of the Aurora Jays who was tied with Rettie for Most Runs Scored.
Tyler Linger of the Mansfield Cubs and Michael Gemmiti of the Bolton Dodgers shared the Most Sportsmanlike Player award.
This was Linger’s third consecutive year named MSP.
Jason Seeler won the Best Catcher award while the Coach of the Year went to Peter Kinghan of the New Lowell Knights.
In the junior division, Alliston Athletics’ Joshua Wheaton had a .481 batting average for the season taking top spot.
Wheaton was also named Most Valuable Player for his division while teammates Colin Kelcher and Alex Lojko picked up the best on-base percentage and Most Home Runs trophy respectively.
Jordan Kight of the Aurora Jays plated the most runs at 26.
Top Pitcher for the junior division went to Jake Nicholson of the Creemore Barons, with the Most Sportsmanlike Player awarded to Matt Gill of the Collingwood Jays and Aaron White of the Orillia Minors.
The top team for batting in the senior division was the Aurora Jays while New Lowell Knights topped the list for best pitching.
Both teams also took home titles as first place regular season finishers in their respective divisions.
New Lowell finished the post-season winning the Strother Cup over the Ivy Leafs in six games.
The Knights also picked up an ‘AA’ provincial championship and were recognized Sunday with the team name added to the provincial titles plaque of the league.
The Aurora Jays junior team finished first overall in their division but the Creemore Barons topped the charts for both team batting and pitching.
After the awards ceremony the league membership assembled for the first meeting of the year.
Tyler Linger of Mansfield was elected Vice President. Chris Esson moved to president while Jesse McIntyre moved to past president, Dan Gowan, Scott Anderson, and Peter Kinghan remained in their respective positions as treasurer, secretary, and statistician.
The league currently has 15 senior teams and four junior clubs for the season. A schedule will be finalized at the next meeting in April.

By Brian Lockhart



Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support